Home | Amazing | Today | Tags | Publishers | Years | Account | Search 
Loading
Orchard CMS: Up and Running

Buy
Orchard CMS: Up and Running, 9781449320218 (144932021X), O'Reilly, 2012
A few months back, I wanted to create an online presence for my band, Daisy’s Gone. In the past, I would have started from scratch. But I remembered all the domains I’ve accumulated over the years that are now nothing more than parking pages at my registrar. It’s generally not hard to throw together a few simple brochure-ware pages. I certainly could have done just that for my band’s site. However, even simple sites often have content and behavior that needs to be dynamic.

The obvious solution is to use a content management system (CMS). CMS platforms such as WordPress and Drupal offer users prebuilt functionality for everything from creating pages to managing site registration. A full-blown CMS will allow non-technical users to create and manage content and will allow programmers and designers to extend the out-of-the-box functionality by creating themes and modules, respectively.

With Daisy’s Gone, I was once again presented with the dilemma of whether to build a site from scratch or to use a CMS. Fortunately, I remembered how I had seen a then just-released Orchard CMS used at the NYC Give Camp a few months earlier. Give Camps match developers and designers with charities who have some unmet technical need, often a web presence. One of the developer groups built its charity a new website using Orchard.

I remember being quite impressed by how much this team accomplished in one weekend using this new CMS. So when it came time to start building the website for my band, I made the choice to use Orchard.

The original Daisy’s Gone website was not much more than a home page. It was primarily a sandbox for me to learn Orchard. As I write this book, I’m going to create a new online presence for the band. I’ll walk through the steps of creating a custom look and feel (themes) and extending Orchard with new functionality (modules).

Whether you are building a new corporate site for your company or a site for the local youth soccer league, you are likely to have many of the same needs of your CMS.

Building a site for a band is no different. You may need to schedule events, manage user comments, support OAuth, or have a site map. The content will vary by your domain, the features much less so.
(HTML tags aren't allowed.)

Practices of an Agile Developer: Working in the Real World (Pragmatic Programmers)
Practices of an Agile Developer: Working in the Real World (Pragmatic Programmers)
Want to be a better developer? This books collects the personal habits, ideas, and approaches of successful agile software developers and presents them in a series of short, easy-to-digest tips. This isn't academic fluff; follow these ideas and you'll show yourself, your teammates, and your managers real results. These are the proven and effective...
Upgrading and Repairing Microsoft Windows (Upgrading & Repairing)
Upgrading and Repairing Microsoft Windows (Upgrading & Repairing)

Fans of Upgrading and Repairing PCs, your call has been answered. Scott Mueller, author of the best-selling Upgrading and Repairing PCs, is now bringing you an equally in-depth guide to Windows troubleshooting. Upgrading and Repairing Microsoft Windows explains how Windows works and how to fix it when...

Interactive Collaborative Information Systems (Studies in Computational Intelligence)
Interactive Collaborative Information Systems (Studies in Computational Intelligence)

The increasing complexity of our world demands new perspectives on the role of technology in human decision making. We need new technology to cope with the increasingly complex and information-rich nature of our modern society. This is particularly true for critical environments such as crisis management and traffic management, where humans...


Business Statistics: Contemporary Decision Making
Business Statistics: Contemporary Decision Making

Help your students see the light.

With its myriad of techniques, concepts and formulas, business statistics can be overwhelming for many students. They can have trouble recognizing the importance of studying statistics, and making connections between concepts.

Ken Black's fifth edition of Business Statistics:...

Pro .NET 2.0 Extreme Programming (Expert's Voice)
Pro .NET 2.0 Extreme Programming (Expert's Voice)
The target audience for this title are current .NET 1.1 developers and future .NET 2.0 developers who need to put Extreme Programming (XP) into practice. While other Extreme Programming books are usually theoretical in approach, this book takes the reader through the practical application of Extreme Programming with code-level solutions. It shows...
About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design
About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design
When the first edition of About Face was published in 1995, the idea of designing products based on human goals was a revolutionary concept. Thanks to the work of Alan Cooper and other pioneers, interaction design is now widely recognized as a unique and vital discipline, but our work is far from finished.

This completely updated volume...

©2017 LearnIT (support@pdfchm.net) - Privacy Policy