Home | Amazing | Today | Tags | Publishers | Years | Account | Search 
Intermediate Robot Building

Buy
Intermediate Robot Building, 9781430227540 (1430227540), Apress, 2010

Greetings robot builder!

Over the years, I’ve created many homemade robots (some of which, only the builder could love). However, with each successive robotic generation, I try to gradually expand my knowledge of electronics, mechanics, machining, software, and art by experimenting with new techniques, features, or parts (keeping in mind, all the time, it’s a hobby to be enjoyed).

Rarely will my latest robot be composed entirely of new technologies. Instead, each robot takes a small evolutionary step with a few changes from a collection of tried-and-true modules. In a selfcontained way, this book follows that trend by tracing the stages of growth of a single robot, named Roundabout, from mindless prototype to virtuoso.

My approach is to delve deeply into a particular part or subject, rather than skimming the surface of an entire design. This focus on modules and segments allows you to create your own personalized robot from desired pieces, rather than necessarily replicating exactly what I’ve made. I invite you, now, into my laboratory (straight through the living room, turn left at the kitchen) for friendly conversations about robot secrets and designs.

For readers of Robot Building for Beginner (Apress, 2002 and 2009), welcome to the next level. Intermediate Robot Building, Second Edition offers you the kind of real-world knowledge that only renowned author David Cook can offer.

In this book, you’ll learn the value of a robot heartbeat and the purpose of the wavy lines in photocells. You’ll find out what electronic part you should sand. You’ll discover how a well-placed switch can help a robot avoid obstacles better than a pair of feelers. And you’ll avoid mistakes that can cause a capacitor to explode.

Want a robot that can explore rooms, follow lines, or battle opponents in mini-sumo? This book presents step-by-step instructions and circuit and part descriptions so that you can build the robot featured in the book or apply the modules to your own robot designs.

Finally, you’ll find the complete schematics for Roundabout, a room explorer that requires no programming and uses only off-the-shelf electronics. With Roundabout, you’ll use many of the same techniques used by professional robotics engineers, and you’ll experience many of the same challenges and joys they feel when a robot “comes to life.”

What you’ll learn

  • How to build a robot from scratch
  • Digital electronics and moderate machining
  • How to use and integrate modern modules useful to all robots: power supplies, motor couplers, motor drivers (including H-bridges), opponent and obstacle detectors, and floor sensors.
  • How to embrace and extend the base robot design
  • How to use Roundabout, which operates with off-the-shelf brains, so that no programming is required
  • How the additions of a microcontroller, configuration switches, and even a music module all come together as a final two-tier automaton showing a versatile Robot who is seemingly the master of its domain.

Who is this book for?

This book is aimed at intermediate builders: adults, college students, and advanced high school students. It requires background experience in electronics, at least to the extent covered by Robot Building for Beginners.

Because the hobby involves soldering, electricity, and light machining, the writing is targeted toward individuals with those capabilities.

The book has been referenced in a number of high school and college courses.

(HTML tags aren't allowed.)

Data Push Apps with HTML5 SSE: Pragmatic Solutions for Real-World Clients
Data Push Apps with HTML5 SSE: Pragmatic Solutions for Real-World Clients

Make sure your website or web application users get content updates right now with minimal latency. This concise guide shows you how to push new data from the server to clients with HTML5 Server-Sent Events (SSE), an exceptional technology that doesn’t require constant polling or user interaction. You’ll learn how...

Prevention of Coronary Heart Disease: From the Cholesterol Hypothesis to w6/w3 Balance Contributions by Okuyama, H. (Nagoya); Ichikawa, Y. (Nagoya); ... Review of Nutrition and Dietetics, Vol. 96)
Prevention of Coronary Heart Disease: From the Cholesterol Hypothesis to w6/w3 Balance Contributions by Okuyama, H. (Nagoya); Ichikawa, Y. (Nagoya); ... Review of Nutrition and Dietetics, Vol. 96)

This publication is organized in an exceptional way: Each chapter introduces several completed clinical trials and provides the original conclusions and discussions of the results. The authors then contribute their own comments and interpretations of the findings, challenging the prevailing belief that serum cholesterol is a mediator of...

Introduction to Data Mining Using SAS Enterprise Miner
Introduction to Data Mining Using SAS Enterprise Miner

If you have an abundance of data, but no idea what to do with it, this book was written for you! Packed with examples from an array of industries, Introduction to Data Mining Using SAS Enterprise Miner provides you with excellent starting points and practical guidelines to begin data mining today. Author Patricia Cerrito encourages you to...


Adobe Illustrator CS5 Classroom in a Book
Adobe Illustrator CS5 Classroom in a Book

Creative professionals seeking the fastest, easiest, most comprehensive way to learn Adobe Illustrator CS5 choose Adobe Illustrator CS5 Classroom in a Book from the Adobe Creative Team at Adobe Press. The 15 project-based lessons in this book show readers step-by-step the key techniques for working in Illustrator CS5.

Readers
...

Beginning Java 8 Games Development
Beginning Java 8 Games Development

Beginning Java 8 Games Development, written by Java expert and author Wallace Jackson, teaches you the fundamentals of building a highly illustrative game using the Java 8 programming language. In this book, you'll employ open source software as tools to help you quickly and efficiently build your Java game...

Knowledge-Based Intelligent Techniques in Character Recognition
Knowledge-Based Intelligent Techniques in Character Recognition
Knowledge-Based Intelligent Techniques in Character Recognition presents research results on intelligent character recognition techniques, reflecting the tremendous worldwide interest in the applications of knowledge-based techniques in this challenging field. This resource will interest anyone involved in computer science, computer engineering,...
©2019 LearnIT (support@pdfchm.net) - Privacy Policy