Home | Amazing | Today | Tags | Publishers | Years | Account | Search 
Maple and Mathematica: A Problem Solving Approach for Mathematics

Buy
In the history of mathematics there are many situations in which calculations were performed incorrectly for important practical applications. Let us look at some examples, the history of computing the number π began in Egypt and Babylon about 2000 years BC, since then many mathematicians have calculated π (e.g., Archimedes, Ptolemy, Vi`ete, etc.). The first formula for computing decimal digits of π was discovered by J. Machin (in 1706), who was the first to correctly compute 100 digits of π. Then many people used his method, e.g., W. Shanks calculated π with 707 digits (within 15 years), although due to mistakes only the first 527 were correct. For the next examples, we can mention the history of computing the fine-structure constant α (that was first discovered by A. Sommerfeld), and the mathematical tables, exact solutions, and formulas, published in many mathematical textbooks, were not verified rigorously [25]. These errors could have a large effect on results obtained by engineers.

But sometimes, the solution of such problems required such technology that was not available at that time. In modern mathematics there exist computers that can perform various mathematical operations for which humans are incapable. Therefore the computers can be used to verify the results obtained by humans, to discovery new results, to improve the results that a human can obtain without any technology. With respect to our example of computing π, we can mention that recently (in 2002) Y. Kanada, Y. Ushiro, H. Kuroda, and M. Kudoh, calculated π over 1.241 trillion digits (explicitly, 1, 241, 100, 000, 000).
(HTML tags aren't allowed.)

Data Mining and Predictive Analysis: Intelligence Gathering and Crime Analysis
Data Mining and Predictive Analysis: Intelligence Gathering and Crime Analysis
It is now possible to predict the future when it comes to crime. In Data Mining and Predictive Analysis, Dr. Colleen McCue describes not only the possibilities for data mining to assist law enforcement professionals, but also provides real-world examples showing how data mining has identified crime trends, anticipated community...
Developing User Interfaces for Microsoft Windows
Developing User Interfaces for Microsoft Windows

Good user interfaces matter. In fact, they matter a great deal to the success of a program. While a program’s design and technology affects its overall capability and performance, as far as the user is concerned, the user interface is the program. If the user interface isn’t good, the program isn’t good. Don’t expect...

Understanding WMI Scripting (HP Technologies)
Understanding WMI Scripting (HP Technologies)

Understanding WMI Scripting is the first book of two dedicated to Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI). This first book explains to Windows Administrators the various WMI scripting techniques available to ease their day-to-day management tasks. Under Windows Server 2003, Microsoft made solid enhancements in WMI. This...


Digital Citizenship: The Internet, Society, and Participation
Digital Citizenship: The Internet, Society, and Participation
Just as education has promoted democracy and economic growth, the Internet has the potential to benefit society as a whole. Digital citizenship, or the ability to participate in society online, promotes social inclusion. But statistics show that significant segments of the population are still excluded from digital citizenship.

The
...
Upgrading and Repairing Microsoft Windows (Upgrading & Repairing)
Upgrading and Repairing Microsoft Windows (Upgrading & Repairing)

Fans of Upgrading and Repairing PCs, your call has been answered. Scott Mueller, author of the best-selling Upgrading and Repairing PCs, is now bringing you an equally in-depth guide to Windows troubleshooting. Upgrading and Repairing Microsoft Windows explains how Windows works and how to fix it when...

C++ Primer Plus, Fourth Edition
C++ Primer Plus, Fourth Edition
C++ Primer Plus, Fourth Edition presents the ANSI C++ standard beginning with a discussion of the essential elements of C++ programming: loops, expressions, functions, and classes. It walks readers through the basics of object-oriented programming: classes, inheritance, templates, and exceptions, as...
©2019 LearnIT (support@pdfchm.net) - Privacy Policy